Who We Are

We challenge decision-makers to bring about positive change, and deliver coordinated advocacy and campaigns at EU level.

Our vision

A Europe that values and respects animals as sentient beings.

Our mission

As the pan-European animal protection organisation, the primary focus of Eurogroup for Animals is to work in the interest of animals towards a society in which they are valued and respected as sentient beings. Thanks to a united network, we protect animals by achieving better legislation, highest standards, enforcement and by driving societal change.

The voice for animals in Europe

For over 40 years, we have worked with our members to measurably improve the protection of animals.
7 years

of Eurogroup for Animals


Member organisations


 signatures collected by the End The Cage Age ECI network

Our team

Our board consists of representatives from full member organisations.
​​​​​​​Our team is grouped by policy area or by horizontal teams that work across all the dossiers.

Giovanna Lastrucci

Social Media Officer

Doug Waley

Aquatic Animals Senior Specialist

Agnese Marcon

Communications Manager

Benny Andersson, Treasurer

CEO, Djurens Rätt

Inês Grenho Ajuda

Farm Animals Programme Leader

Elly von Jessen

Political Affairs Officer Netherlands

Keri Tietge

Aquatic Animals Policy Officer

Elise Fleury

Campaign Lead

Valentyna Vozna

Ukraine Taskforce Coordinator

Cristina Lopez-Perea

Political Adviser

Valérie Sturm

Political Adviser Germany

Beta Ferro

Office Manager

Charlotte Epinay

Aquatic Animals Programme Leader

José Luis Murillo

Political Adviser Spain

Theresa Bonnici

Press Officer

Mpho Mary Hlalele

Philanthropy Partnerships Lead

Sophie De Jonckheere

Development Strategist

Aurélie Cassart

Talent Manager

Tim Robinson

Operations Manager

Ann De Greef

Director, GAIA

Myriam Vanderzwalmen

Farm Animals Project Manager

Maja Lisac

Executive Assistant to the CEO and Membership Assistant

Julia Pochat

Chemicals Strategy Political Adviser

Jonathan Sander

Sustainable Food Systems Project Officer

Dr Elena Nalon

Senior Veterinary Adviser

Laurence Walder

Animals in Science Programme Consultant

Laura Edwards

Political Officer Ireland

Sarah Bedson


Lena Rohn

Food and Environmental Policy Manager, Animal Protection Denmark

Hanna Klosinska

Political Adviser Poland

Roberto Bennati

Vice President, LAV

David van Gennep

CEO, AAP Animal Advocacy and Protection

Marta Klimczak

Farm Animals Programme Officer

Flavia Piccari

Political Officer Italy

Jessie Fernandes

Political Adviser France

Susanna Blattner

Transport and Slaughter Policy Officer

Philip Lymbery, President

CEO, Compassion In World Farming

Nick Clark

Wildlife Programme Leader

Marie Cochet

Communications Officer

Dirk Verdonk

Country Director, World Animal Protection

Iwona Mertin

Outreach Manager and Companion Animals Programme Leader

Luísa Bastos

Animals in Science Senior Programme Leader

Daniel Pérez Vega

Trade and Animal Welfare Programme Officer

Alejandro Gil

Events Officer

Maya Cygańska

Farm Animals Programme Officer

Léa Badoz

Wildlife Programme Officer

Jacopo Moccia

Political Adviser

Daniela Yamamoto

Donor Development Lead

Carlos Jalil

Trade and Animal Welfare Programme Officer

Ellen Greve

Membership Officer

Francis Maugère

Insects Political Adviser

Sandra Moreau

Finance Manager

Jürgen Plinz

Treasurer, Deutscher Tierschutzbund

Sami Säynevirta

Vice-President, Animalia

Chris Sherwood


Gemma Willemsen, Vice-President

Corporate Strategic Adviser, Dierenbescherming

Bethania Malmberg

Fur Animals Programme Officer

Iza Arrieta

Cats and Dogs Programme Manager

Camilla Björkbom

Food Policy Political Adviser

Shannon Huggard

Political and Legal Adviser

Laura Demaude

Communications Officer Farm Animals

Stephanie Ghislain

Political Affairs Manager

Esther Bergmark

Project Manager

Ruby Le Galle

Digital Strategist

Bernard Van Heuverswyn

Business Information Manager

Andreas Erler

Senior Political Adviser

Josef Pfabigan


Imane Aeraki

Finance Officer

The European Parliament and us

As the leading animal welfare organisation in the EU, Eurogroup for Animals has been the secretariat for the Intergroup on the Welfare and Conservation of Animals since its inauguration.